I have made these muffins a few times in the last month or so for morning snacks around here and they are a hit!  You might remember that I really have only ever wanted 1 cookbook & recently found it again once I unpacked the kitchen.  I had only made a handful of recipes from the Deceptively Delicious cookbook, but wanted to give some more a try.

Especially when it comes to snacks around here- I’m always looking for budget friendly, healthy & yummy.  I found the recipe for the applesauce muffins & decided to give them a try.  As always, I’ve edited it & played with it each time I’ve made them.  So think of this as a general framework- ok? :

First I needed to roast my butternut squash. And since I needed to make Kade some baby food, I decided to make him some sweet pototatoes as well.  It was pretty simple.  Jessica Seinfeld has a step by step “how-to” when it comes to making the purees.

Butternut Squash:

-Cut off the stem, cut the squash in half and scrape out the seeds

-Roast the halves in cookware flesh side down with a little bit of water in the bottom to keep it moist at 400* for 45-50 min.

-Scoop out the flesh & puree in the food processor for a few min (I added a few tsp of water)

Since I was making and freezing baby food, I decided to just put all the squash in ice cube trays so I could use it in the muffins or feed it to Kade.  The night before I made the muffins, I just took several squash ice cubes and set them in the fridge overnight.

Here is my edited recipe.  And since I’ve been toying with soaking more of our grains (don’t ask me about my cinnamon rolls! yikes!) I decided to try to soak them overnight before I made them.

Batter: (I double this to make 24 muffins total)

1.5 c whole wheat flour

1 c old fashioned oats

1.25 c kefir

(I mixed those three ingredients up the night before & let sit till morning, then I added in the following:)

1 tsp baking powder

.5 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1 c unsweetened applesauce

.5 c butternut squash (or she says you can use carrot puree- haven’t tried that yet)

.5  c brown sugar

.25  c oil (i used coconut)

1 large egg (I honestly think i forgot this the first 2 times I made these!)

handful of dark chocolate chips or carob chips (my addition- makes for a little party in your mouth in every bite!)


Would you look at all that color in those muffins!  Love it!  Since I doubled that batch above, I was ready to make 24 muffins.  I have done this just by spraying the tins with oil & with muffin liners in the pans.  I will just spray with oil in the future as the liners keep way to much of the muffin on there when you take it off.  Combine all the ingredients- batter should be lumpy.

Then put together the topping: (My kid’s favorite part- ok mine too!)

2/3 c old fashioned oats

1/4 c  brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

2 tbs butter

Mix those ingredients together and sprinkle over the muffins.  Bake at 400* for 18-20 min or when toothpick comes out clean!

While it did take some thought to plan ahead to get my grains soaking the night before, it has been a breeze for some time having snacks ready to go from the freezer.  I just whip out 3 muffins (1 for Johnny, Belle & mom 🙂 ) at breakfast time & they are almost completely thawed by our snack time around 9:15am.  Works like a charm.  In fact, we are getting pretty low so I need to plan a baking day for early next week!

And on an entirely different, non-healthy note, I plan to try these this weekend for our family breakfast. Do those look fabulous or what???  I’m hoping to mix up the batter and keep them in the fridge overnight Friday so that I can just pull them out and pop them in the oven first thing on Saturday morning.  Cause my kids get out of bed at 7am and are ready for breakfast by 7:02am. 🙂  Yum-O!

