I came across the following from Neva Whitney (writing about what verse helped her the most in being a mother to her children) and it hit home today! I’m going to write this verse down to keep at my kitchen sink!

“And I will most gladly spend and be expended for your souls. If I love you the more, am I to be loved the less?”  2 Corinthians 12:15

Spend and be expended – that pretty much says it all. Moms lay down their life day after day, night after night, week after week, and year after year. They do this for decades. It’s hard work. Yes, there are rewards. But the work is hard, nonstop and relentless.

The verse says “gladly” spend and be expended. That always was a ‘check’ to my spirit. I did not always succeed, but I sure tried. I felt it was my responsibility to smile, as that’s what God always wanted from me. Being a mom is not just a duty; it’s a privilege. Being a mom is a work that can only be done well, if it is done with joy.

As wives and moms, we cannot fall into this world’s way of complaining about the time children take or the interruptions and inconveniences they can cause. We tend to hear so much complaining! Our children are our God-given disciples and they will define most of our daily schedule and when all is said and done – our life’s work!

A joyful mother should set the atmosphere in the home, even when sleep-deprived or buried under a pile of laundry and bathroom messes.

Being a mom is such a God-given privilege.  Our children are a blessing and a gift – from God’s own hand.

– Neva Whitney

