It did not take long in my quest for eating healthier for me to come across things like Kefir.  And while the concept seems great and I love all the benefits that Kefir would bring to our diet, the idea is was completely overwhelming to me.  Once I noted the prices of Kefir in the stores, I decided that if I ever wanted to try it, I would have to make my own Kefir at home.

Yep, pretty sure once I figured that out, I decided to put that idea on the back burner forever for a long time. 🙂  I mean, I have no idea what I’m doing.  I feel like a crazy lady trying to explain to people what the benefits of Kefir are AND what if it fails???

Once we got things settled after moving out to CO, I decided I wanted to give Kefir grains a try.  I had heard great things about Cultures for Health.  I set aside about $20 in our food budget last month to make my purchase.  I was so excited.  Until the box came… now what?!?  Well, apparently, you have to rehydrate the Kefir grains.  Put in a glass that is “partially sealed” (seriously, what does that mean? 🙂 ) and let sit overnight.  Ok.  Step one done.  Now I can go to sleep.

Day two and three were the same thing.  Strain the extra milk and put grains in fresh milk.  I was nearly walking on air thinking “this Kefir thing is so easy!” then, day four happened:

W-H-A-T is that?  Apparently, when the kefir starts to set up, it separates.  I called the company wondering what I did wrong, but they tell me I did everything correct!  When things start to look like cottage cheese????  By golly, you have got yourself some Kefir.

And here it is all nice in a clean jar ready for the fridge.  🙂

Actually, I did not put it in the fridge right away.  I wanted to start soaking oats for oatmeal the next day.  So that is what I did.  I followed this recipe and was quite pleased that first morning.

Isn’t it pretty? 🙂  I know I’m weird to think that soaking oats are pretty.

However, the next few days I had a hard time with the soaked oats.  They tasted quite sour, not sure if I’m putting too much kefir in or what.  (I do intent to try serving it with real maple syrup instead of the agave that I was using, but I need my mom to come back to town so we can make a Sam’s Club run!) But we needed a break so I decided to give brown rice soaked waffles a try.  I was very nervous about these, but put on a brave face for the fam. 🙂  Since they had a cup of kefir and the oatmeal only had a tsp, I was so worried about the flavor. But they were awesome!  The only thing I plan to change next time is that I will try to grind up the rice a bit in my blender before adding the kefir.  The waffles were light and fluffy and looked amazing, but they had little bits of rice that you were chewing so I want to see if I can make it more of a smooth texture.

Overall?  I like it. I am still overwhelmed, but I’m learning a lot.  One thing that was quite freeing in this whole process was that I asked Jason if I could order the Kefir grains, spend the money, if I messed it all up and we were out $20…..was he ok with that?  (He knew I was going to give it all I had. 🙂 ) But I was worried that I would waste our money on something that I would not be smart enough to figure out.  With that settled, I gave it a whirl and the grains are working great- and I’m only using one of them.  Not sure what I do with the other one… yet another question I have.  🙂  But I am happy that I overcame my fear of this crazy & weird highly nutritious food and I’m delving into new adventures each day!

