Forgive the tardiness of this post, but I realized that both my Weigh-in Wednesday & Truthful Thursday posts could both be combined along with my dreadfully behind goal of reading one book per month.  Whew.  I’m just going to start fresh here, I have read one other book this year in addition to this book I’m about to highlight below.  That means I have ten books left in just six months.  Doable, right?  I hope so. 🙂

Enter my newest read- one I’m having a hard time putting down!  This is a short book with even shorter chapters (love it!) written by a mom of 5 kids all under 5 years old.

Loving the Little Years, Motherhood in the Trenches

I’m loving this book.  Short, intentional chapters full of truth and humor.  Why am I highlight this book along with Weigh-in Wednesday?  Most of you know the journey I have been on the last few months with losing my post-baby weight.  I hit my goal, but I am still trying to eat healthy and workout on a regular basis.  And while I know that is a good thing, I can get carried away in my head of what I want to do each day with working out.

Can I just share that in the last nine days, I’ve had two workouts?  Yes, life has just been that way.  I found myself frustrated and irritated this week that I’m having a hard time finding time to workout.  Then this morning I read a few pages and I felt the Lord gently tugging at my heart as to why I want to lose this baby weight. The following paragraphs hit me right between the eyes this morning:

First of all, our bodies are tools, not treasures.  You should not spend your days trying to preserve your body in it’s eighteen-year-old form.  Let it be used by the time you die, you want to have a very dinged and dinted body.  Motherhood uses your body in the way God deisgned it to be used.  Those are the right kind of damanages.

There are of course ways to hurt your body that are outside of God design for it and disobedient.  But motherhood is what your stomach was made for- and any wear and tear that it shows is simply the sign of a well-used tool.  We are not to treat our bodies like a museum piece.  They are not given to use to preserve, they were given to use to use.  So use it cheerfully, and maintain it cheerfully.  When you are working hard to lose the baby weight (as you may need to), think of it as a tool of maintenance.  You want to fix your body up in order to be able to use it some more.  It might be used for more children or it might be used to take care of the children you have.  We should not be trying to fix it up to put it back on the shelf out of harm’s way or to try to make ourselves look like nothing ever happened.  Your body is a tool.  Use it.

So realize that your body is a testomony to the world of God’s design.  Carry the extra weight joyfully until you can lose it joyfully.  Carry the scars (of childbirth) joyfully as you carry the fruit of them.  Do not resent the damages that your children left on your body.  Just like a guitar mellows and sounds better with age and scratches, so your body can more fully praise God having been used for His purposes.  So don’t resent it, enjoy it.

Wow.  And that was just 3 paragraphs!  Seriously, this is a good read.  This lady knows her stuff, loves the Lord and her family.  I found myself wishing this last week that I could just meet her and thank her for her words.  In fact, I’m toying with writing her a thank you note (if I can figure out where to send it) just to encourage her in her walk as well.

But now my kiddos are up from naps, wanting snacks and my littlest man will be wanting to eat shortly as well.  So I’ve gotta run.  But for real, if you know of a momma of young kids who is trying to walk with God and raise her kiddos to do the same? I bet it would bless her life to have a copy of this book!

