If you have been here long, you know how much I enjoy tweaking recipes to make them just a little bit healthier.  I had looked up a recipe for whole wheat chocolate chip cookies a while ago to have something on hand for my sweet tooth besides junk food.  What I came up with was several recipes that had whole wheat flour as the base but still had a lot of sugar and oils in them.  I went to work creating my very own chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I think I have made these 3 times now in the last month and a half and each time I have changed a little something else here and there.  But here is my general framework.

(And how could I forget my lil’ helpers!)

1 C turbinado (I have been using about 3/4 C the last few times)
1/2 C butter
1/2 C coconut oil (last time I doubled the batch but instead of doubling the oils, I used unsweetened applesauce as the other cup of oil)
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 egg white
1 3/4 C whole wheat flour (maybe a little more depending on how sticky the dough is or how many things you change 🙂 )
1/4 C flax
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 -1 C mini chocolate chips
1/4 C sunflower meets

Oven to 375*

Roll into balls, bake for 8 min.  Take a fork and get them flat.  Bake another 3-5 min.

Keep in mind that these instructions are for Colorado baking times.  Even then when I used applesauce instead of all the oils they took longer to cook.  So –keep an eye on them… just in case. 🙂

Serve warm with a cup of milk.  Yum-O!

And can I just show off my Mother’s Day gift to you all? Yes, I did pick it out myself… and order it (with husband approval of course). *Ahem*  But when the package arrived I promtly took it to my husband and let him hide it until the day of.  And I tried to act super surprised when I opened it on Mother’s Day! 🙂

I had found a 60% off sale at Flirty Aprons a few weeks back had my eye on this “Sugar and Spice” apron.  Would you look at those three layers of ruffles at the bottom of my apron?  And the touch of “wow” with the pink bow and rhinestones!!!!  Who wouldn’t feel fabulous cooking in this apron! Love it!!!  Thanks fam for an amazing Mother’s Day gift!!  Perhaps this is why I’m on such a baking kick these days… I just want and excuse to wear this all day long! 🙂

