This is my scale that I scored 2 or 3 years ago at a garage sale for $.25.  Yes, I paid a quarter for it and I couldn’t have been more pleased with how it has worked.  In fact, I was slightly giddy but then quickly shocked this morning to see that I had lost 7.5lbs this week!

Wait.  What?

I rubbed my sleepy eyes again and did a double take.  Yep, that is what the scale said.  But I knew it was not right.

You see, yesterday the kids were weighing themselves when I was getting ready for the day.  Then, they just never left the bathroom.  Johnny was trying to walk over to me and happened to catch the corner of the scale- tipping it up and then he fell on it.  He was fine after a min or two, but I did not even think to check the scale.  With much hesitation, I stepped off the scale and then back on 3 more times and each time came up with the same “new number”- down 2lbs from last week!  Woot!  I think!  Not sure if the scale is broke or not!  Perhaps I really did have “not the greatest week ever” that I thought I did and now my scale is just off.  😦 However, I had the kids weigh in again this morning and Belle weighed in the same as she was yesterday, but Johnny was down a pound.  Not sure what that means- he was wearing flannel lined heavier jeans yesterday though. 🙂  Who knows.  Either way, a scale that is broken that tells me I’m lighter? I’ll take it! 🙂  I plan to just weigh in again next Wednesday and see what is says.  I guess I will make a plan from there as to whether or not we need to find a replacement.  However, I’m thinking I’m going to need to budget more than a $.25 this time! 🙂  Any suggestions on a good/frugalista friendly scale?

I wanted to share a few of my secrets and motivations.  Here is a look at how I updated my fridge a few weeks back:

 

I decided that having a yellow post-it note on my fridge (with my goal written down!) might just help remind to make wise choices when I find it is snack time.  And I must say, it was helpful the first week or two.  Now I do not even notice it- time for a different color sticky I think! 🙂

And now for the way I start my day (and have for over a year now!):

Enter my oatmeal… or rather my oatmeal on steroids. 🙂  I seriously love waking up each morning knowing that I get to eat this.  I make my oatmeal on the stovetop with milk so that right away I get some calcium for the day.  Then once the oats are almost done I add in several TBS of flax, a couple of shakes of cinnamon and a small spoonful of both honey and peanut butter.   That adds extra fiber, antioxidants, sweetness and a little protein.  While I skip my oatmeal on family breakfast days, 99% of the time I just eat this.  It tastes great and keeps me full all morning long.  When I try cereal or something else for breakfast I end up hungry and snacking as I make lunch because I just can’t make it.  Not cool.  I do realize though that not everyone can eat the same thing over and over and OVER! But I really don’t mind as I’m happy with how I feel when I eat it and I’m happy with knowing what I’m putting in my body.

So that my friends is my secret weapon for breakfast! Stay tuned for what I eat for lunch… you guessed it… pretty much the same thing every day. 😉  I do add in a little more variety though with fruits and veggies and I try to get creative with our dinners.

Only 8 lbs to go!   …. I think. 🙂

 

 

