While 98% of the time I’m all about healthy, frugal and yummy meals around here, there is a side of me that LOVES to make desserts.  And I’m not talking about low fat ice cream covered in fruit.  I’m talking about terrible/awful for you/clog your arteries kind of dessert.  Thankfully this urge only happens every once and a while and I mostly deal with it by making treats to take to other places or give away.  This pecan cheese cake pie is what my mother-in-law made for us when we visited and YUM-O was it delicious!

When Jason said his co-workers requested that I bring in treats one last time before we move, well, it did not take long to know that this seemed like the perfect idea!  If you ever need a non-chocolate mouth watering dessert?  Well, my friends, look no further. 🙂

Pecan Cheesecake Pie

(I doubled this recipe below to make enough for a jelly roll pan)

I started with the topping so that it had time to cool:

Topping
1.5 C chopped pecans (I thought I had enough pecans, but when I went to get this ready I realized I did not. I used chopped walnuts for the other nuts)
3/4 c coconut
3 TBS butter

Combine ingredients and bake on an ungreased jelly roll pan.  Bake at 350* for 10 min.  Cool.

Crust:
2 and 2/3c quick  oats, uncooked
2/3 c brown sugar
6  TBS butter
1 tsp cinnamon

Combine all ingredients and press onto bottom of 9×13 pan.  Bake 8-10 min at 375* or until golden brown. Let cool completely before adding the filling.

Filling:
6 oz cream cheese (softened)
1/2 c powdered sugar
3+ c whipping topping
3/4 c  caramel ice cream topping

Beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth.  Fold in whipped topping.  Spoon onto crust.  Chill.

Sprinkle with coconut topping right before serving.

Then run away!!! Or you might end up eating half the pan!  Thankfully I sent these right out the door to Beisser and did not even lick the spoon- whew!

 

