As you may remember, we are BIG fans of applesauce around here.  Last week I was reading about how to make homemade kefir (something that scares me to death – but I would love to try in the future!) and I came across a recipe on their site for Apple Pie Smoothie.  Since it included yogurt (that I had in the fridge already) and frozen applesauce (again, already had some homeade stuff in the freezer) I decided to give it a try.

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup Unsweetened Applesauce (best if frozen or chilled)
  • ¾ cup yogurt or kefir
  • Dash of Vanilla Extract
  • Dash of Cinnamon
  • Dash of Nutmeg

I ended up making a tripple batch so it could feed our entire family.  And on my own, I also added some agave and some chopped pecans to make it more “apple pie” ish. 🙂

The end result?  It was not very sweet, but I really liked it.  I enjoyed something different than our usual bowl of applesauce.  However, I think the kids were all excited and thought they were getting apple pie, so they were a little disappointed with the final product.  Plus, they informed me that “the nuts were not their favorite” – good to know. 🙂  I do think I will make this again in the future, I’m hoping at some point with my homemade kefir.  And next time I might add a bit more agave and serve it more as a dessert than a side dish.  Oh, and I will probably just put the nuts in mine. 🙂

