99% of the time, we are a “cold cereal and milk for breakfast” family.  Sometimes I wish that it was not this way.  I see pictures in magazines and blog posts all the time of yummy, healthy and creative breakfast food and I really really really want to make it.  But come the next morning at 7:01am when both my kids come running out of their room at full speed saying “Good morning mom!  Can we have breakfast?” Combine that with a newborn baby, getting the day started, my husband out the door, my oatmeal (the only thing that keeps me full) started and have I mentioned I have not yet had coffee??? Right.

Cheerios it is. 🙂

(I must say, my husband is very helpful the mornings he is home from 7:00-7:15am in helping us all get going in the right direction)

I think we implemented “family breakfast” somewhere after our Man Breakfast last summer.  It is not down to a  science as of yet, but either Saturday or Sunday morning I try to make a special breakfast for us all to eat together.  And while in my head this is a great idea and I plan/dream all week about the mouth watering food we will all enjoy together…. well, it has proven to be somewhat of a stressful time.  My first son is quite emotional if he does not have food in his mouth within minutes of waking up.  Come to think of it, so is my second son. 😉  Actually, we are all quite hungry.  And now with a nursing baby to work around… yes, we still have a ways to go to preparing and consuming the food in a non-stressful way.  Especially with momma waking up with a cheerful heart to greet and serve her family.  I think that would be an excellent place to start. *Ahem.*

My sister in law posted her version of biscuits and gravy a while back and I’ve had them in my head for quite sometime.  However, since we do not eat pork very often around here- I had pretty much given up all hopes of creating any recipes with sausage.

Sad day.

Because I really like sausage.  Then somewhere in the middle of my newborn baby fog, I happened upon a recipe for homemade turkey sausage!  Perfect!! I tried it out on my family when we were visiting in Colorado and viola!  It is a keeper.  I usually use Honeysuckle 93/7 ground turkey.  I was super excited when I put biscuits and gravy on my menu for family breakfast last week!

Since I knew I would be short on time that morning (see above with emotional son needing to eat asap!) I decided to cook up the sausage the day before.  I just did half of this recipe since I only had 1 lb of meat.  But I really need to start cooking up 2 lbs at a time and putting the other lb in the freezer for future use.

2 lbs ground turkey

.75  tsp ground ginger

1.5 tsp salt

1 tsp sage (I have been leaving this out since we don’t have any!)

.25 tsp cayenne pepper (I made this .5 tsp last time so it had some heat!)

1/5 tsp ground black pepper (I just eyeball this)

I got my ground turkey cooking and this time around I decided to try something new.  I feel like every time I cook meat with seasonings, half the seasonings come off when I drain the grease. So this time I cooked the meat about 3/4 of the way, drained the grease that I had so far AND THEN added my seasonings.  It worked great!  I’m totally going to do this in the future.  Grease goes away, flavor stays in tack.  Awesome.

Saturday at 6:45 am found me whipping up my whole wheat biscuits.  I found this recipe and modified it slightly.

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 cup milk

But then used Jade’s instructions on how to make the biscuits.

Mix the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Blend in the butter until the mixture is course. Using the fork, stir in the milk. DO NOT OVER MIX! Put on a floured surface and knead just a FEW TIMES! Pat the dough to about ½” thickness. Cut with a biscuit cutter or a class (flour the edges). Don’t handle the dough too much or it gets tough.

Using the heavy, black skillet, place 1 Tbl. butter and put the skillet in the oven at 500 deg. for about 5 minutes. Remove the skillet from the oven and place the biscuits in the pan turning each one in the oil. Bake at 500 deg. for 10 minutes or until light brown. (Next time I plan to watch them a little closer – they seemed about 1 min overdone, but otherwise they were great!!)

While the biscuits were cooking, I then followed her recipe for the gravy, and used 1/2 of the lb of turkey sausage that I had made the day before.

Best Gravy

½ lb. Pork Breakfast Sausage (Turkey sausage for us!)
2 Tbl. Chopped Yellow Onions
3 Tbl. Flour
2 Cups Hot Milk
Salt & Pepper to taste
Red Pepper flakes (might have been a bit much with the cayenne pepper I already put in the sausage! I loved it, but the kids said it was a little too spicy for their taste-but they did eat it though 🙂 )
1 Batch of Biscuits

This dish is made in a frying pan (I used my large cast iron skillet for the biscuits and my small cast iron skillet for the gravy). Heat the pan and fry the sausage and onion until the sausage is brown and the onion clear. Drain off all the grease except for 2 tablespoons (note: some sausages are lean and leave little residual grease in this case, you may need to add shortening) (I HAD MADE MY SAUSAGE THE DAY BEFORE, SO I DID NOT HAVE ANY GREASE LEFT- I JUST USED 2 TBS OF BUTTER). Stir in the flour and cook for just a minute. Add the hot milk (this is easiest to heat in the microwave). Stir constantly until the mixture thickens and then season with spices to taste.

The results?  Awesome!  So good and I really wanted to eat a second helping, but I held myself in check and did not. 🙂 Dude, I’m hungry right now just looking at that picture- time to go much on some carrots. 😉

You have any favorite breakfast foods?  Since I’m cooking breakfast once a week now, I need to expand my recipe collection!

