Please welcome my first ever guest post ! I have enjoyed these last few months getting to know Mrs. Dexter more and more. I enjoy her creativity and I find myself checking her blog daily!  I’m super excited for them as they are on a journey pay down their debt and in awe of her ability to cook with so many different veggies!   I was even more pleased when she brought us some chili for dinner (my husband had just informed me that my chili recipe”was not his favorite” – oy!) and my entire family enjoyed eating it!  I’m totally going to skip scraping the ice off my car this morning to head to the grocery store- and instead, I plan to stay at home and get this recipe going in the crock pot for supper!

Although I don’t have kids, I consider myself a “kid person.” I would like to have kids someday, I’m an elementary education major, and I’ve enjoyed babysitting other people’s children most of my life. Sometimes, however, I forget what kids are really like.

After Kade joined the Rohlf family in December, I planned to take dinner over so I could see the new baby to bless Leah, the new mother. My initial plan was to make Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo, leaving out the onion and pepper and adding in some onion powder for flavor to meet their family’s dietary needs. Then I realized that I didn’t eat black-eyed peas until I was 24, and that when I was a kid, I would have been really freaked out by those brown and black things in my soup. So, I talked to Leah and decided to make chili.

As I was making my grocery list, I realized that the chili I usually make has peppers and onions at its base, which wasn’t ideal for their family. Then, I remembered that my mom–who avoids peppers and onions–has always used an easy, delicious, family friendly recipe. I remembered it as best I could and took the finished product over to the Rohlfs. I was thrilled when Leah told me her family enjoyed it, and even more honored when she asked me to share the recipe on her blog.

Chili Ingredients (plus some tomato sauce that didn't make it into the picture...or this particular pot of chili)

Family Friendly Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef (I highly recommend beef from Grass Run Farms)
  • 2 15 oz. cans chili beans (read the label to make sure it doesn’t contain any ingredients you avoid–the cheap brand at my grocery store was clean!)
  • 1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1 15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. onion powder

Directions:

  • In a dutch oven, brown ground beef.
  • When beef is thoroughly cooked, transfer to a colander and rinse under hot water.
  • Return beef to dutch oven. Add chili beans, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, and spices. Stir together.
  • Bring to a boil. Then, reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 20-30 minutes.
  • Serve with your favorite chili toppings. I love colby cheese and saltines.

Kelsey is a wife, teacher, and follower of Jesus who loves to read, go on dates with her husband, snuggle with her two puppies, and experiment in the kitchen. You can follower her adventures, as well as her journey toward debt freedom, at Mrs. Dexter.

