Photo Credit

Parenting is hard work.  There is joy scattered here and there, but those times of “Wow, I really love being a mom!” are not a daily experience for me. Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids and I would do anything for them.  But they are a lot of work.  My parents used to say (and probably still do) “Parenting is about 95% work and 5% fun, so you better learn to enjoy your work”.  So true.

Yesterday I had one of “those days” with my children.  The older two most of the time are the best of friends.  They play so well together.  Johnny is finally at an age that he can pretend play with Belle.  They come up with some of the most creative ideas from forts to playing “life” like the grocery store, story time or house.  I love how much they enjoy each other’s company.  However, there are the days that they are the worst of enemies.  And yesterday was such a time.  Nothing was going well.  Every time I turned around I heard Johnny yelling (which is usually followed by him hitting, kicking or throwing something) which is followed by wailing from his older sister. For the life of me, they could not get along. It was a constant “IT’S MY TURN!” with every little thing.

I was exhausted.

I wanted to give up.

Thankfully reinforcement came when daddy arrived home bedtime came at the right time last night.

I woke up this morning not wanting to face the day.

Thankfully, I have incorporated sitting quiet time around here every weekday morning during the week from 8-8:30am.  Belle sits on the couch with a few books and Johnny sits on a little 3’x3′ blanket with a few books and usually some duplos.  They sit quiet for that half an hr and I get a few minutes to finish cleaning up the kitchen and make a plan for the day.  But most importantly to me is that I use that quiet time to read my Bible.  I am so thankful when God is able to speak to my heart.  Here is a verse I read this morning.

“According to the grace of God given to me, like a skilled master builder I laid a foundation, and someone else is building upon it.” – 1 Corinthians 3:10

Now, I in no way consider myself a master in the art of parenting! Not even close.  But it got me thinking this morning  and I felt God tugging at my heart about the foundations I’m building in my kid’s lives.  It is a brick by brick process.  Every day I am with them training their hearts, every prayer we pray, every loving word said, every situation resolved, every act of kindness we ask them to do, and every training opportunity, these will all add up.  One day they will (hopefully and by the grace of God!) have a solid foundation in which they will love God with all of their hearts, minds and souls.  I realize there are no promises in the Bible about raising your kids.  Principles, yes.  But promises of “if you do this, then your kids will turn out this way every time”.   I just have to trust that while I will not see the finished product for a very very long time, I know that I am laying a foundation and that each day counts.  The good days and the bad days. God can use them all.

