Well kids- it is official!  The Rohlf fam is moving to Colorado come the 2nd weekend in April!  We have been waiting and praying for this day for a long time now.  I must say- this last 15 months has been quite the roller coaster.  If I could sum it up in one word- “WAIT” … and then wait some more.  But God is good and his timing is perfect.

We actually had decided a few weeks ago that we were going to take a step of faith and move to Colorado without Jason having a job.  While that was scary and a HUGE step in trusting God, we really felt that he was asking us to take the plunge and trust him with the details.  Now, I don’t know about you, but staring down unemployment in a few months with no insurance benefits and paying off your newborn son, an er visit, a moving truck and gas to get 3 vehicles to Colorado…. yeah, that was one large step of faith. 🙂  Thankfully, we had started saving for several of those items in this last year so nothing was a huge surprise (minus the er visit with Kade in January).  But then on top of all of that- having zero income once we arrive… it was not looking pretty.  But we did take God at his word and made up our minds that we were going and that He could be trusted to provide for us.  We had some savings that we knew we could live on for a few months once we arrive and had been planning and dreaming of different ways we could make some money here and there. Along with our zero-income budget we worked up, it was a lot to take in and going to be quite the lifestyle change, but we were confident this was what God was asking us to do.

We had taken the last few weeks to personally tell people around us that this is where we were headed.  It has been an exciting, scary, happy and sad few weeks.  And while we do hope to see some people in the future as both Jason and I’s sides of the family still have relatives here in Iowa… it will not be the same.  We have grown to love our friends here in Iowa City and especially our church family.  Many of the people that moved here on the church plant from Ames almost 8 years ago have been very dear friends … some for over 10 years!  I can not imagine life without them… and yet I know God has plans that I can not see.  And I am thankful that this life is not the end– I will be with them again one day for eternity.    Plus, Facebook, Twitter and blogs are wonderful things as well. 🙂  Whew! I can’t keep writing about all of this without tearing up…

Moving right along.

As of 12:30pm yesterday- God provided a job for Jason!!!  Yep, pretty sure we need more exclamation points for that one…. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

Seriously- amazing!  It is actually his same job with Beisser Lumber- they are going to let him go mobile!  He gets to work from home in Colorado!  I am totally excited and thrilled at how God provided this for us.  Much of the waiting in the last 15 months has been waiting on God to provide a job.   And let me tell you, it was hard.  Some night I found myself in tears once again asking God what he was doing.  We would pray, ask God to lead and guide us and continue to wait.  I have no idea why this timing– as Jason asked over a year ago with his employer to go mobile and the answer was “no”.  He tried again a few weeks later- still “no.”  Fast forward to three weeks ago when he let them know he was leaving and asked again?  It was a “we will discuss” which eventually led to yesterday with a “yes, we will make this work!”

Thank you Beisser!

And thank you God for leading, directing, providing and blessing us beyond what we were asking for!

For the time being, we will be living with my parents.  I’m excited!  I do not know of many other (almost) 30 year old women who move back in with their parents with their husband and 3 kids… but I think it will be good.  🙂  I’m hoping I don’t weird them out too much with my homemade recipes. 😉  Once we find a house though– we would love to have some visitors!

H-e-l-l-o mountains!!

