I found this recipe for granola quite a while ago.  I did make it once or twice, but decided that I could not in good conscience feed this granola to my family because of all that oil!  You see, one of my motivating factors in eating healthy around here is to help Jason’s cholesterol.  Both in getting his bad cholesterol lower and his good cholesterol higher.  I did not see how that receipe with all that oil would not clog his arteries if consumed on a regular basis. 🙂

So I pretty much just forgot about it.

Until one day, I read that someone used coconut oil… boom-baby! Perfect!  I whipped up a batch and it was so good!  Tastes great and with a few additions of my own- it is fairly healthy as well!  I’m all over it. 🙂

Here is my own version of lazy granola.  Not sure there is a whole lot of lazy going on in my recipe… but I do enjoy the fact that I can make it at night and wake up with breakfast ready in the oven the next morning.  This last time I doubled the batch to use over the next few weeks.

1/4 c brown sugar

1/4 c sucanat (or just use a total of 1/2 c brown sugar)

1/2 c coconut oil

1/2 c honey

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp vanilla

2 c chopped almonds

1/2 c sunflower seeds

1/4 flax seed

7 c oats ( I usually mix regular and quick cooking oats together)

Mix the honey, coconut oil and vanilla in a small saucepan until they are all melted.  In a separate bowl combine all the dry ingredients.  Pour the honey mixture over the oat mixture and stir until combined.  Spread out on a greased jelly roll pan and cook for 10 min @ 375*!  Turn oven off and let sit overnight.  Wake up to a yummy breakfast and a house that smells amazing!

Enjoy!

 

