I am not a huge book reader.  At times I will read several books at once and then never finish them.  However, one of my new year’s resolutions is to start small in this area of reading one book (in addition to the Bible) each month.  I had asked for this book, “Choosing to SEE” for Christmas and much to my delight I received it!  I think I had it read in about 7 days.  It was that good.

I was first drawn to this book because the Chapman’s adopted three little girls from China.  In fact, it was at a Steven Curtis Chapman concert in Ames way back in the day… like 11 years ago when I first felt God tug at my heart about adoption. Once I saw that Mary Beth Chapman had written this book about their story, I was all over it.  I am still so excited to maybe adopt one day.  And the story did tell of each of their adoptions.  However, God seemed to have something else for me in this book.

There are many parts to their story, but the main one is about the day their son accidentally hit one of their daughters from China with the car and she was taken to Heaven.  It is quite the story of sadness and hope, pain and healing.  At one point in the book, Mary Beth (don’t quote me on this) was asking God- WHY? And a bunch of other questions that she just could not get past. God’s answer to her (among other things)-

“Love well those left in your charge”- God

Since I finished this book almost 3 weeks ago, I cannot get that statement out of my mind.  I think it is because I have this desire to adopt some day.  That seems like I will be doing something great for God.  Something huge.  I have also thought for many years that traveling to a different country to help run an orphanage would be amazing.  Now, that is even more huge!  Surely my life would bring God glory if I did that.

And yet… I keep hearing “Love well those left in your charge, Leah”.  I had lost sight of the fact that I am already doing something huge in the kingdom of God by loving my Mr. and raising my three little kids.  Somewhere in the piles of laundry, trying to cook healthy meals and 2 little boys in diapers, taking care of someone else’s baby seemed more important.  But of course it is not.  God also keeps bringing these verses to mind:

“And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones who is my disciple, truly I tell you, that person will certainly not lose their reward.” – Matthew 10:42

“Whatever you do work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men.”- Colossians 3:23

Do I one day hope to adopt? YES! To be involved in the work of an orphanage somewhere? YES!

But for now, for today, my heart has to be here in my home.  To love well those left in my charge with a cheerful and servant’s heart.  Yes, that is what God has asked of me today.

Ps.  You should really read the book!

