Tis’ the week for recipes!

Since re-vamping our eating almost 2.5 years ago, there have been M-A-N-Y changes, shifts, items deleted entirely from our menus and some things that just can not get rid of.  Coffee creamer is one such item. 🙂  I really like the stuff and can not find something to replace it.  I try to keep it in moderation and measure my portions.  I once heard from my dietitian friend Alicia that if you eat healthy 80-90% of the time, then the 10-20% you can be a little flexible in your choices.  Well my friends, Italian Sweet Cream creamer falls into my 10-20%. 🙂

One of the things that I had thrown away way back when was my beef and chicken bullion cubes.  I was not pleased with the ingredient list and decided that since I rarely used them anyway, I would just get rid of them. I have not really missed them.

Until this last weekend.

We were driving home from Colorado and my friend Rach had text me and asked if she could bring us some Turkey Noodle Soup for dinner that night once we arrived home.  We were several hours into our 11.5 hr drive and the thought of hot soup waiting for us (instead of the cold cereal and milk that I was planning on) seemed would be perfect!  I took her up on her offer- little did I now how it would rock our world.  This soup was amazing!  (I had just told Jason that last week that I was not a huge fan of chicken noodle soup and I had never had a homemade one that I liked all that much either.  Something just always seemed off.  Even when I am sick I do not eat chicken noodle soup.  No thank you.)  But seriously, this soup smelled awesome and tasted even better.  I was giving the kids a bath after dinner while Jason was cleaning up the kitchen and I walked out to find him licking the ladle clean before washing it. 🙂 Yes, it was that good.

I asked her for the recipe (maybe I should have her guest post!) and she sent me her “framework” of what she dumped into a pan and somehow it mysteriously turned into this amazing soup.  I decided to give it a whirl (I’m trying it again this week so I might get pictures and share it with you then!) but one of the ingredients was chicken bouillon.  I did a double take and wondered what brand she used because I know she has to have gluten free ingredients and she is very detailed about what she feeds her family as well.  She said she made her own (of course Rachel would make her own!! why did I not think of that?) and she emailed me this recipe. Homemade bouillon cubes?  I had never heard of such a thing.  But I was bound and determined to figure out this recipe because our family loved it so much.  Thankfully I already had cooked/shredded chicken on hand for the soup so I just used some of that. (I was trying to make half a batch, so i’m sure my measurements were not entirely correct…)

  • 3 cups celery, minced
  • 3 cups carrots, minced
  • 2 onions, minced
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 1/2 lb ground beef or chicken
  • First I used my food processor to shred all my veggies:

    Then I added the salt and chicken and cooked on low for about 50 minutes.

    Once it was done I put everything back into the food processor and blended it all together.  Then poured it into an ice cube tray (who knew there were so many uses for these things!) and put them in the freezer.

    (Sorry I can’t get that picture to rotate….grrr)

    And you are done!  Just pop 1 (or 3 or 4 in my case with my soup!) out of freezer and into whatever you are cooking for instant added (real food!) flavor.  Voila!

