“Give THANKS IN ALL CIRCUMSTANCES  for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” -1 Thessalonians 5:18

Being thankful is a big thing around our house.  Very often if Jason or myself is having a rough day, the other one will ask “What are you thankful for?”  We might email or text each other a list or just tell each other at the end of the day.  It does my heart a world of good to remember all the blessings that God has given me and to take my eyes off myself.  Having a grateful heart is one character quality we want to instill in our kids.  Many times this has led to the kids and I being thankful on a van ride across town… just so I can get my heart right.  Well, now they think it is a game.   The ‘fankful’ game as Johnny calls it. 🙂  At least every other day or sometimes every day one of them will pipe up from the back of the van, “Mom, can we play the thankful game?”  So we do.  We take turns going around and say what we are thankful for.  It makes this momma smile. 🙂

A few months ago Jason also started leading the kids at bedtime to say one thing they are thankful for and they ended the day in prayer thanking God for his provision over our family.  A few times Belle requested that I join them and now it has turned into part of our nightly routine that we do as a family.  I love it.

Which brings me to my quote of the day from a little while back.  We were playing the thankful game in the van and after several rounds…. this little conversation was had:

Mom: “I’m thankful for daddy’s job”

Dad: “I’m thankful for  (I can’t remember what he said) “

John Boy: “I’m fankful for MY job!”

Dad: “Your job? You don’t have a job buddy.”

John Boy: “I do! I clean up the duplo blocks!”

Hahaha! 🙂 Awesome.  Yes Johnny, mommy is thankful for your job too! 🙂

