During “rest time” today my daughter started calling: “Mom! Mom! Come here quick!”  I ran into the room and she said “Look! water and sailboats!”  I had no idea what she was talking about until she pointed to her magna doodle.  Check it.

Do you see what her excitement was about?  It took me a minute.  A long minute.   Until she then said “I sounded it out!”

Here, Let me help you. 🙂

Top to Bottom:

Boat  (But)

Sail And   (Sal  And)

Water  (Wadr)

Which translates to a 4 1/2 year old learning her letters and sounds as “Water and Sailboats!”

My first action was a little frustrated that I came running into the room as she sounded like something was wrong.  But then I could not stop smiling as I realized how she is growing up and wanting to learn to read. We have been doing preschool 3 times a week for the last month or so and even though the efforts seem small in my world, they are huge in hers.  Daily she is asking what things say, how to spell things and trying her hand at writing on her own.  This was her very first attempt all on her own of sounding somthing out and writing what she thought was correct and I must say I’m quite the proud momma! 🙂

