I learned my chicken pizza recipe from my mom many years ago.  I think she picked apart a pizza in Seattle when they were visiting and figured out what the ingredients were.  And while I really really like my mom’s chicken pizza, I have changed a few things around to make it work a little better for our family.  This dish is a hit around here and the few times I have made it for others- there are always rave reviews!  First thing I do is cheat on the crust. 🙂  Normally for pizza I make a whole wheat crust (once again a recipe that was originally my mom’s that I have adapted to whole wheat) but once I discovered these babies… there has been no turning back. Enter Thomas English Muffins.  They do have several different kinds that they offer, but I am a huge fan of the 5G of fiber, honey wheat and no high fructose corn syrup!  Honey wheat crust for chicken pizza?  YUM-O!

I buy mine at Walmart and while I think they used to be $2.09 per package, I think I paid like $2.26 this time. *GASP!* 🙂  However, these mini pizzas paired with a salad, fruit and perhaps a frozen veggie will feed our family for two nights- so I am willing to spend the extra $.17 to make it work. 🙂

I just realized I have no more pictures until the final product… so hang in here with me.  I usually buy a tub of light or skim ricotta cheese.  Depending on the store that I purchase it from, they are called different things.  I use about 1lb of boneless skinless chicken breasts and get them cooking on my stove with a little extra virgin olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.  This time I think I used a little rotisserie style seasoning as well, just make sure they are well seasoned with whatever sounds good.  (I have not tried making them spicy… not sure how that would taste with the honey wheat crust).  Anyhow, while the chicken is browning, I take garlic (fresh, diced or powder whatever I have on hand) and mix it into the ricotta cheese.  Then I slice all the english muffins and put them all face up on  a cookie sheet.  I spread a little of the garlic and ricotta cheese on each one (not super thick or it is all you can taste, but enough for a good covering) and sprinkle on some parmesan cheese on each one.  By this time my chicken is usually browned and I will cut up the chicken into quite small pieces.  I’m a “I like a piece of chicken on each bite” kind of girl. 🙂  Top with a little mozzarella cheese and pop these babies into the oven at 350* for about 13 min to melt the cheese and viola!  Dinner is served!!

AND these make excellent leftovers or lunch for the next day!  Who’s hungry? 🙂

