Photo Credit

While I have been counting down the days till this weekend, this morning was a little harder on me that I had orginally thought.  Jason is driving the kids half way to Grandma and Grandpa’s house (his parents) so kids can spend the weekend with them.   We are staying home…. on our very first staycation.  We have left both of the kids with someone before, but this is the first time I am staying home and they are the ones leaving.  Packing their little bags and getting them ready found me in a pile of tears last night.  Thankfully I held it together this morning as I said goodbye, but if I was the one “officially dropping them off” this morning I’m fairly certain it would have been a different story.  *Sigh*  I am looking forward to some time along with my honey, but I miss them already and it has only been an hr and 15 min since they left.

On the bright side though, once Jason gets back in town, he is headed to the Iowa game this morning with some friends.  Which leaves me with about 8 hrs total of alone time today and I have no idea what to do with myself.  At first I told myself that I would clean the house so that I could rest and relax the rest of the weekend.  Well, come yesterday, I realized the last thing I wanted to do with time “off” was to clean, so I busted it yesterday and got everything done.  Second idea I had was that I was going to help get the kids out the door this morning, eat some breakfast and then go back to bed.  After a fitful night of sleep and 3 bad dreams in a row, the last thing I want to do right now is go back to sleep.  So here I am blogging. 🙂  My husband so graciously gave me money for a pedicure later today, so that is lined up for 1:00pm.  Other than that, I am planning to go Christmas shopping and I am quite excited!!!  However, at the moment I am content to sip my coffee in the quiet, read my bible and blog for a bit longer. 🙂

We are having friends Matt and Kristen over for lunch on Sunday afternoon and I must say I am excited to cook and have another couple over to just talk and hang out.  It has been a while.  Usually meals together with others consists of the same amount of kids and adults and the noise and chaos is sometimes unreal!  Even now, I’m realizing how quiet it will be around here without Belle walking around the house singing or Johnny running through the house yelling “fight! fight!” and swinging a stick! 🙂  I hope grandma and grandpa make sure consume their weight in caffiene to keep up with those two! 🙂

Anyhow, besides those few things we don’t have much lined up for the weekend.  We’ve talked about catching a movie or I’m dreaming of going to the apple orchard today as the weather is absolutely perfect!  After months of having morning sickness, packing and moving in 24 days and then traveling nearly every weekend in Aug, I am ready for a quiet and relaxing weekend at home.  Now I just have to stop thinking and missing the kids long enough to do that.

I love you Belle and Johnny, have fun with Grandma, Grandpa and Aunt Lindsy!

