After a 2 year (yes, really.) I finally took the time, found the energy and bought the supplies to make some safe cleaning supplies for around here.  Not sure why it took so long, but I happy to report that our house is nearly free of traditional cleaning supplies.  I’m quite excited to start to train Belle how to clean the bathrooms now. 🙂  I have 2 tubs of the cleaning wipes (love these!) that I am going to use up, just because they are so convenient.  But this is the picture of the cleaning supplies that I just listed for free on Craigslist:

Yes, I realize that is a lot.  I told you, I stocked up when the deals were good.  Plus, I like to have a separate supply of cleaning items in each bathroom and kitchen.  Add to that the last min run to HyVee last year for supplies when we realized our tenants didn’t clean the place last August…. you will eventually get a stockpile.

Here is my new set of cleaning supplies to clean my ENTIRE house:

Wow… seems like I should need some more, right?  I’ve got what I need for the toilets (borax), and counters, sinks, appliances and outside of toilets (all purpose cleaning solution and soft scrub) and windows (vinegar).  I’m still trying to decide what to do with bathroom and kitchen floors and the tubs.

This morning I decided today was the day to make my supplies.  My friend, Maren had posted this recipe a while back and I was excited to use it.  I had seen it at Dana’s house and she enjoyed it as well.  So I know it is going to be a winner.  And a long time ago, Sarah had hosted a green cleaning party and we made this soft scrub.  I was very happy with how it worked, although I found that I had to rinse the sink about 2 or 3 times to get all the residue from the baking soda removed.  But I felt like my sinks were clean when I used it, so I knew that was what I wanted again.  (I’m seeing a theme here… apparently I am nervous that “green” cleaning supplies won’t clean my house as well… must be the germ freak in me… it is still there. 🙂 )  Anyhow, these are my before and after pictures while making my supplies.

All Purpose Cleaner Recipe


Ingredients:
1/4 c vinegar
2 tsp borax (optional: Borax has a disinfecting quality)
3 c hot water
1/4 c castile soap
20 drops essential oil (tea tree, eucalyptus, or whatever you have/like)

I used tangerine essential oil – found it on sale at the co-op yesterday for $2.99!

Instructions:
Mix borax and hot water in a spray bottle until borax is dissolved.
Fill the bottle with remaining ingredients, shake to mix. Enjoy!

Creamy Soft Scrub

suggested uses: Use this creamy soft scrub on kitchen counters, stoves, bathroom sinks, etc.

2 cups baking soda
½ cup liquid castile soap*
4 teaspoons vegetable glycerin (acts as a preservative)
5 drops antibacterial essential oil such as lavender, tea tree, rosemary or any scent you prefer (optional)

Mix together and store in a sealed glass jar, shelf life of 2 years.

*A personal note about the soft scrub, it dries out over time, so last time when I put it in a shampoo bottle…  that was not a good idea.  I had to bang it on the counter to create small chunks to get it out.  This time I used an old butter container that I can stick my hand in to dig out the product when I need it. 🙂

That about wraps up my day.  Although I just got off the phone with my friend Rach (who still needs a blog… 🙂 ) and she told me she made her own deodorant…. my mind is off racing again!! 🙂

