Yes we went there!  Or at least my hubby had the idea and between our two brains we pulled it off.  Our air conditioning broke last Tuesday afternoon.  We called the guy on Wed am (who we had out 3 or 4 times last summer) and it was going to take him a day or two to get here due to the massive amounts of calls he was receiving. Friday around noon he arrived and informed us that the compressor was shot (he had tried several “short cuts” last summer hoping they would hold out and they did not).  Unfortunately due to the three day weekend and the fact that he had to order that part for our unit- we would be without ac until Thursday of this week.  If it was just no ac for those 7 or 8 days, that would not be ideal, but do-able.  But Johnny had the flu on Saturday and Sunday and I still have morning sickness and driving in the car these days makes things pretty miserable for me.  Therefore, we were home bound.  We have been opening up the house every night and putting fans in the windows to cool it down.  For the most part last week, it worked quite well and it was only hot and humid in our house for about 4 or 5 hours in the afternoon/evenings.  However, on Sunday we woke up and it was already 78* and humid in our house, Johnny was still sick and vomiting, the kids woke up extra early and everybody was in a grouchy mood. Add to that that we had to keep the large fan on high in the living room to keep air moving, nobody could hear what anybody was saying.  Once it reached 88.5 degrees in our house that afternoon… we were all done. It was overall just a rough day.  I was reading in my quiet time Sunday afternoon and came across this verse:

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”- 1 Thess 5:16-18

And it just hit me.  I was in the midst of a battle with my heart.  I was hot and sweaty and feeling sorry for myself.  But really on the grand sceme of things, I had so much to be thankful for.  One of them being air conditioning.  I don’t know that I will ever take air conditioning for granted again.   I am thankful I  live in a free country and for all the men and women who sacrificed on my behalf.  I know that when I go to the store there will be food on the shelf for me to buy.  I have a wonderful husband who was blessed with a three day weekend and two kids who are healthy (minus the vomiting part! :)) that I love. Once I got my attitude straightened out, the day went so much better.  I would like to say that it cooled off in our house, but that didn’t happen until about 9:30pm that night.  But we did take the kids outside and introduce them to water balloons and had popsicles.  We enjoyed family time and even though the weekend didn’t go as planned, it was restful.

Sunday afternoon Jason said we should make homemade air conditioning.  I laughed but then we decided to put a large bucket of water in the freezer for Monday in case it was just as sweltering.  Turned out it was not, but we had a good time putting our little invention into place and enjoying cool air for the 55 min the block of ice lasted! 🙂  I think we would have needed another 9 blocks of ice to actually do much difference for an afternoon, but thankfully the house only got to 82.5 yesterday. I’m hoping that our record temps on Sunday were a one time only thing.  And let me tell you… I will be so happy to see that air conditioning man on Thursday!  Until then, the kids and I might be making our way around to your houses to enjoy your bought air! 🙂

