Photo Credit

I have never heard of a family that didn’t struggle with trying to get their kids to eat more veggies.  Due to much training and many “sitting at the table until your food is finished” both of our kids do a pretty good job with eating most of their veggies.  (I say this for now… I have no idea what next week has in store!!) For real though, they both enjoy the veggies that I usually serve at dinner, broccoli, asparagus, green beans, peas and salad.  Lunch veggies are a different story though.  Eating carrots or celery for my kids is like pulling teeth.  And I totally understand the celery part… but carrots?  What kid doesn’t like carrots.  Both of mine apparently.  Until I pulled out the ranch dressing that is. 🙂  Now each day when I serve lunch I serve a little ranch with the carrot sticks or pb on the celery and viola!  They are gone in an instant!   I asked my friend and registered dietitian, Alicia if it is better for kids to eat fewer veggies with no “help” or more veggies with some dip.  Her thought was if they would eat more veggies with dip, then to go that route.  However, her suggestion of trying “other” dips, ie hummus has not yet hit our house yet.  Some day when my energy returns I hope and plan to experiment with some other things for the kids to dip their lunch veggies in and see if any of them are a hit.  But for now, the ranch is working and they are getting their veggies.  And they do a good job at dinner (maybe it is because I season them???)  so I’m not worried at this point. Yes I would like them to eat more raw veggies, but will just keep chugging along and see where this takes us.  Oh yes, my other secret weapon for getting my kiddos to eat other foods that they are not a huge fan- ie: lentil nachos??  Here you go!!

Photo Credit

Sing it with me now! “Just a spoonful of ketchup helps those lentils go down….!” 🙂

