Recently I was reading a few chapters in Paul Reisser’s book Couplehood.  Makes me smile every time.  (He also has Babyhood which was hilarious!)  We own both books and I throughly enjoy how he takes the ordinary and mundaine and creates in into good clean (for the most part!) fun.  The chapter I was reading was about how couple’s who get married later in life have more to talk about than couples who get together right outa high school. Couple “A”  has an additional 20 years of “life” that they experienced apart that  can talk about than couple “B”.  He goes on to say that is why old people have are always sitting quiet… they’ve heard all the old stories and have experienced all the new stores together so hey already know what the other one is going to say.  Now, I can personally attest to the fact that Jason and I have been married for 5 years and together almost 6 and we still LOVE hanging out with one another.  Each of us considers the other as their best friend and we genuinely enjoy each others company.  However, I personally find this take on couple’s lives funny as my husband and I (ok, mostly him, but I don’t mind 🙂 ) tend to repeat stories to one another.  Occasionally we need fresh material.  I mean… come on.  We know almost every thing about one another, right? RIGHT?

WRONG!

Would you believe that the other night I nearly fell over when my husband told me something NEW that I had never heard.  His words were ” _________ drives me CRAZY!” Wanna know what it is?  Well, here you go. 🙂

Apparently our THREE (gasp!) junk drawers in our house drive my man nuts.  I had no idea!  I mean, who doesn’t have a junk drawer?  Well, it seems the fact that we have a junk drawer is not the problem, it is the fact that we have three of them and they all look like the above.  I tried to argue that the third was not a junk drawer, it served a purpose holing 6 or 7 specific items.  But once I cleaned it out, there were about 10 other random items in there as well and quickly realized he was right.  It was indeed a third junk drawer.  *Sigh*

Call it spring cleaning or the fact that we are planning on moving in the near future (AND  I would not want anything in our relationship to drive my love nuts!)  The next day I went to Walmart and bought some plastic organizers and got to work.

This was our “little” drawer that I refused to call a junk drawer.  I told him it only contained, lighters, matches, scissors, tape and clothes pins (we use them instead of twist ties on our bags of food).  Here is what was really in there.

I forgot to take a picture of both of those drawers all organized. But they look B-E-A-U-TIFUL!  I can not believe the amount of junk that was just sitting there that I had not even touched since we had moved in.  And best of all, I can now find my chapstick and sharpie markers right away!  My next project?

My third and final junk drawer in our room.  This one is about three times the size as the others… so it is going to be a task! But hopefully my love will be able to sleep a little better once he knows all the junk drawers and cleaned out and organized. 🙂

