I really can’t believe I am writing this post.  I went back and forth several times last night.  Well, here goes.

We broke our “no spend money for a week” challenge last night.  On purpose.  *GASP*!

We bought a twin bed for John Boy on Craigslist.  I have been looking for several months and missed several good deals with email responses of “we already sold the bed”.  This time around with #2, we decided just to skip the toddler bed and go right to a twin.  Seeing as how my baby boy is going to be 2 this summer, I’ve been on the hunt for some time to find a mattress in great condition without paying full price.  This is a constant job that has required a lot of patience.  Then Sunday night happened, in my daily routine of checking the furniture section, there was a twin mattress, box spring and frame in “good condition”  listed for $35. I almost didn’t look at the picture because all the other mattresses listed for under $50 look quite nasty.  But I gave it a whirl anyway and low and behold it looked awesome!  The only problem that I saw in the picture was that it was pink! (Much to the delight of Johnny’s older sister! 🙂  Anyway, we called the guy and asked if we could come Sunday night, but he said Monday night at 7pm worked for him.  So exciting!  It did not dawn on me until Monday afternoon that we were going to have to spend money to buy this mattress.  I texted my husband in a tizzy and he told me to chill out (in a Jason sort of sweet way) and that we could make an exception for this find since we have been looking for so long.  So I decided we should at least go look at it.  When I was loading up the $35 cash (from the envelope we had already saved up for a bed for him) I felt gulty knowing that I was intentionally breaking our deal for the week.  On the drive over my husband said “Did God tell you not to spend money for a week or was this your idea” – It was my idea… I liked the challenge.  But I realized he was right.  I was not doing anything wrong, we were going to bless our family with a great deal with money that we had already saved up.  We got to the house and like the picture showed, the mattress was in great condition and we bought it!  Loaded it up and brought it home and Johnny keeps pointing to it going “Bed! Bed!”  He knows it is for him and he is excited!  As for us, we are still going to try to go these remaining three days without spending any more money.  And my bananas are in the fridge to slow down the ripening process!  🙂  Here’s to challenges!  And also to flexibility to roll with life! 🙂

