This is getting exhausting.  I’ve decided the following:

-We are poor planners

-This is a crazy point/transition in our lives to try something like this

or

-God just has a sense of humor 🙂

A few weeks ago, our vacuum stopped working.  Mind you, I just blogged about this about a year and a half ago.  Wondering what items in life are worth investing in and what others you just plan to replace once and a while.  In a perfect world, I would have invested in a ‘lifelong vacuum‘ but at this point in our lives we are not financially able to make that kind of commitment.  Instead, I went to Walmart, dropped $150 on the best looking vacuum with a 5 yr warrenty and thought “Well, that should last at least 5 years.” 15 months later, the suction is gone and it is making a high pitched squeal and smells like something is burning.  Darn.  WAIT!  5 yr warrenty people!  So I called, they walked me through what we should have done already (checked for clogs), ect.  Been there, done that.  So she said, you can mail it in and we will look at it.  WOOT!  However!  We have to pay shipping both ways.  A minimum of $35.  And while that isn’t bad for a vacuum repair… it is $35 that we just realized this morning we were going to pay if we mail the vacuum today.  Ok, my last favorite part is that we will be without a vacuum for 4-6 weeks.  Our friends the Windhams have let us borrow their vacuum for a few weeks while they are in transition into their new home.  What a wonderful blessing! They need their vacuum back this week though… and we had not yet sent ours in.  Mostly due to the fact that I wanted Jasont to totally take it apart and MAKE SURE! it was not something that we could get around.  That messy process took place yesterday and we indeed could not fix it from our home.  And my MOST favorite part of all is that we have our house for sale and we are hosting open houses every Sunday afternoon.  What a wonderful time to be without a vacuum.  And a wonderful time to not be spending $ to get said vacuum fixed.  Right.  So… I think our vacuum is going to be sitting in our garage until 12:01am on Friday morning when I plan to run to HyVee to get it mailed.  Ok, I might wait until 8am. 🙂 In the meantime my friends, if you are in the area and don’t mind parting with your vacuum for a few hrs on a Sunday am in the next few weeks… I might be asking some favors! 🙂

