Yesterday I embarked on my 2nd freezer cooking day ever.  And for the most part, I was much happier with how the day went and what I got accomplished.  (Although, the first time around wasn’t bad, this time was just so much better!)  In fact, I was able to get my entire list done!  Not all in one chunk of time though, I did about 2/3 of it from 5:15am-7:15am and then the last 1/3 of my dishes during lunch/nap time.  I planned ahead much more this time and did some prep work the day before (made the homemade re fried beans) and also choose recipes that were easier than last time.  Back in the fall, I had a few casseroles that called for tortillas so I decided to make my own homemade whole wheat tortillas on top of all of the meals I wanted to make.  Yeah, I will never do that again.  I had all the ingredients laid out this time and a list of what was first, second, third, ect.  It made the entire process more enjoyable and less chaotic.  Even though I had to start so early in the morning, it was SO helpful to have Jason home for those two hrs.  For instance when I went to put my first two casseroles in the freezer and I realized I had no foil!  AH! (So much for planning ahead!) My love ran to Walmart for me at 6:15 in the morning.  Or, when our son had a coughing fit and decided to throw up his breakfast all over… my dear was there to handle that situation as well.  I have no idea what I would have done if I was by myself.  Probably given up and tried again another day. All in all, I think I cooked for about 3 – 3.5 hrs total and we have a good 12 dinners in the freezer for this coming month.  Not bad at all!  Here is a little glimpse into my life (and my dirty kitchen!) Although this time I did try to stay on top of the dishes more and it was MUCH easier to make my way around the kitchen.

This is my kitchen 45 min into my adventure 🙂 I think only a few other times have I EVER had all 4 burners going at one time!

And my first creation, cheesy spaghetti pie (you can find all of the recipes from a post a few days ago)  ps. I don’t recommend trying to put a 9×13 recipe into an 8×8 pan… you will get  a MESS!

Secondly, I made up the bean/meat filling and filled and rolled up all my burritos

And my last venture before I took my 4 hr break was my chicken/rice/broccholi casseroles

Then during lunch I hammered out the pumpkin pancakes (I know… I am the WORST pancake maker EVER!)

And then nap time came and I finished up with the whole what zuchhini bread and the taco lentils (for nachos)

It was a great day and I’m very happy with the food that I have stored.  AND I’m even more excited for my honey to come home from work and find a non- stressed out wife. 🙂

