I am reading through Luke right now and came across this verse yesterday:

“You are my beloved son, with you I am well pleased.” – Luke 3:22

It reminded me of something I had read in Premediated Parenting a while back.  I went and re-read it and found it very encouraging and challanging.

“God the Father audibly communicated His love for Jesus on two occasions.  In fact, these occasions are two of only three direct communications from the Father to the Son during his 33 years on earth.  God must have thought that was a pretty important thing to communicated, don’t you think?  He was not embarrassed to tell others of His love.”

Steve also goes on to point out a few other things from this verse.  At first I wondered how many lessons one can glean from one sentence from the Bible, but then I realized he was right.  God specifically communicated OUT LOUD to Jesus and those listening that:

1) Jesus was HIS son (He belonged to him, it was no accident and his identity was completely defined by his standing with his father)

2)  God the Father loved him- it was not just implied but said

3) God was proud of his son

I have been turning these truths over and over in my mind.  Knowing that I want to communicate all of these things verbally to my kids and I would like to do that daily… maybe even a few times a day.  But somehow I get sucked into life, buying groceries, attmepting to get my kids to eat their veggies or just survive the hard days.  I am excited to go through this day with these truths on my mind.  And hoping to verbally communicate these things to my kids for the rest of their lives.

