I’ve decided I enjoy blogging so much more (reading and writing my own) when there are pictures involved.  So here you go. 🙂

(Ha, just realized that is a pretty gross looking picture. Sorry! 🙂

The recipe calls for 2 lbs of ground beef- which I used last time. This time we used ground turkey and honestly with all the seasonings and other stuff, I didn’t notice a difference at all.  The bag on the plate is my leftover refried beans that I made last time when I made these burritos.  It was enough for 2 batches so one batch went into the freezer!

Brown Bag Burritos

* 2 lb. ground beef
* 2 cans refried beans (I make my own)
* 1 1/3 c. enchilada sauce
* 1/2 c. water
* 1/3 c. minced onion (I use dried)
* 1 Tbsp. chili powder
* 1 Tbsp. garlic powder
* 1 tsp. salt
* 1 tsp. dried oregano
* 3 c. shredded cheese (cheddar, Mexican blend, whatever)
* 10-20 flour tortillas (burrito-size)

Here it is all mixed together (minus the can of pineapple that you saw on the counter 🙂

Brown ground beef; drain.  Add remaining ingredients (except tortillas).  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

Spoon 1/2 c. beef mixture down the side of each tortilla.

Roll up.  Wrap each burrito in a paper towel, then wrap in foil.  (See my crinkly foil?  Because the foil doesn’t really touch the food, it is super easy to save and reuse!)


Refrigerate or freeze.  I like to pack them in the tortilla ziplock bag.
When ready to eat, remove foil and microwave for about a minute.  The paper towel keeps the burritos moist.  If you don’t use a microwave, skip the paper towel and just wrap in foil.  Then heat burritos in the oven with foil.  For a sit down meal they are nice topped with lettuce, cheese, salsa, and sour cream.  If you’re eating on the run, though, just grab and go!

And I (Leah) found these work great for the kids.  I just split one between the two of them and keep the foil on the bottom so the insides don’t fall out.  As they eat the burrito, then I can just roll the foil down a bit.  Ta-da!

