Tis the season where everyone has zucchini coming out their ears!  And while we are not quite there yet (I just got my first 3 this week!) I am eagerly awaiting the time that they are coming in droves. 🙂  I actually planted some more seeds in full sun about 2 weeks ago (my 3 plants are only partial sun… I’m guessing that is why I haven’t had too many yet…) Anyway, I plan to blend a lot of them in homemade tomato sauce later this summer (anybody have any luck getting red toamtoes?) and I plan to try my hand at blanching, but for this week I wanted to find a good low sugar zucchini bread recipe.  I hope to make a ton of loaves and stick them in the freezer for a quick side dish.  I made some this afternoon and decided I couldn’t wait for dinner to try it… and it was great!  Not as sweet as the other stuff- but had some flavor and I was happy with with the ingredients were!

This is what the recipe called for, I will post my changes below:

    Egg, fresh, 3 large
    Granulated Sugar, .5 cup
    Canola Oil, .33 cup
    Cinnamon, ground, 2 tsp
    Zucchini, 2 cup, grated
    Whole Wheat Pastry Flour, 1.5 cup
    Flour, white, 1.5 cup
    Salt, 1 tsp
    Baking Soda, 1 TBsp
    Baking Powder, 1.5 tsp
    Stonyfield Farm Vanila yogurt Fat free, 2 cup

I used Smart Balance oil cause that is what I had on hand.  And I used 2/3 C of sugar… grabbed the wrong measuring cup!  Regular whole wheat flour worked great and I only had 1 C of plain yogurt, so I used an additional C of unsweetened applesauce instead.  Oh, and I dumped a large amount of cinnamon in and a large “dash” of nutmeg (hoping that those would help with the flavor)  Just now I realized it was vanilla yogurt… that would have made it even yummier! 😉  Enjoy!

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Beat eggs until foamy then add sugar, oil, yogurt, cinnamon and zucchini and mix well. Add stevia if you need it to be a little sweeter. In a seperate bowl sift together flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Add dry ingredients slowly to yogurt mixture an dmix until moist. Pour into 2 greased and floured 9x5x13 inch loaf pans. Bake for 35  minutes. Loaves should be golden brown on top. Yields 2 loaves, about eight slices per loaf.

