I’ve constantly battled with believing that green or all natural products work as well as the other stuff.  I don’t doubt that they work somewhat, but I often think  that I will not be as pleased with the results of the natural options. And if I have to go back and clean something twice…what is the point?

Anyway, I’m slowly learning/trying new things.  Most of all just being patient with myself and trying to convince myself that I don’t have to have it all figured out by tomorrow.  I read about the following tips/tricks in Prevention Magazine last night and I’m quite intrigued.  Not sure if I will try all of them, but several of them for sure.

 

To Quell Nausea:

Try frozen ginger chips.  Infuse fresh ginger in hot water.  Strain, then freeze the concoction in ice cube trays.  Crush the cubes and suck the icy chips through the day.  (If we have baby #3 in the future… I’m definitely trying this one!)

 

To Curb a Cough

Indulge in a square or two of dark chocolate. Apparently the chocolate’s theobromine compound is more effective that codeine at suppressing persistent coughs without the side effects

OR

take 2 tsp of honey (don’t give to children under 1) to relieve children’s cough and promote sleep

To Sweeten Bad Breath

Gargle with a small cup of acidic lemon juice to kill odor causing bacteria.  Then eat a bit of plain unsweetened yogurt.  The lemon – yogurt combo instantly neutralizes odor and lasts 12-24 hours.

 

There are a few more that I might post in the future.  I’m running out of time to type with 3 kids around! 🙂  Anybody try any of these and have excellent results?

