Jason and I went to the opening night last night of Fireproof.  Oh my goodness- I have not left my house and driven somewhere that late at night since when I went into labor back in June! 🙂  Someday, maybe that will be normal again, but I don’t think that will be for a while.

I was so excited about this movie.  I saw the trailer online and got goosebumps.  Needless, to say I was quite eager to see and support this movie.  Jason had received movie tickets for his birthday- so our plan was to use those for our date last night.

9:40pm- the previews started and there was an awful (as in bad acting, not anything actually “bad) advertisement for purchasing your movie tickets online.   As we were sitting there and watched that preview, Jason turned to me and said “I think I just threw up in my mouth!”  I smiled, but about 5 min into the movie I was thinking that I was going to have similar thoughts about the movie.  NO WAY!  I really wanted to give the movie a shot and I had been so excited so I decided to stick it out.  It did get better- but there were several awkward moments of bad acting and we were not sure where this was headed, but once the story got going, it was much better.

Several times we found ourselves chuckling and I think I cried (ok, teared up and had tears running down my face) during the movie.  Overall, the story was very good and as we were leaving the theatre, it promted conversation about our relationship and we ended up praying in the car before we came home.  How many other times can you (or myself!) say that about other movies we’ve seen?

Specifically, this verse came to mind about our marriage:

“Be sober- minded; be watchful.  Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion seeking someone to devour.  Resist him, firm in your faith….” – 1 Peter 5:8-9A

In our conversation in the car, we both came to the conclusion that neither one of us prayed very much for our marriage.  We both stated that we faithfully pray for eachother- but our marriage specifically was not something we found ourselves begging God for.  God brought the above verse to mind as I realized that is exactly what the devil wants us to think.  To think that our marriage is fine, we don’t need a lot of help and that it isn’t a big deal.  But it is a big deal- we made a promise to God and to eachother.  Our marriage is not about us, it is about glorifying God and if that is the goal, then we can be sure that the devil is not all about supporting us.

Anyway, that is a little  bit of insite into our night last night!  We got out of the house together, I got to get dressed up, we didn’t have the kids along, we got to see a movie, we “told Hollywood” that we enjoy clean movies by pruchasing our movie ticket, we talked about our relationship and ended up hand in hand praying that God would bless, direct and protect our marriage.  Yep… pretty sure that was a very good date night!

