They say that going from 1 to 2 kids is the hardest transition.  I’ve also heard that going from 2 to 3 kids is the hardest.  As well as, after 3 kids… it doesn’t matter how many you have, they just join in the ruckus from day 1!

I don’t know about all of that.  I do know that having 1 kid was pretty hard.  I went from “my time” to being on call 24-7.  Not that it isn’t worth it… it was just a hard transition.  As I was leaving the hospital with Johnny in tow- the nurses and my doctor said “Now, you know that having 2 kids is the hardest transition…right?”   Right… thanks for that.  Maybe you could have told me that when I checked into the hospital.  But I guess once you are walking out with your 2 year old and newborn, there is no turning back.

The first week was awful and amazing all at once.  Johnny had his days and nights mixed up so I think just in the first week I lost about 20-30 hours of sleep.  Talk about ‘getting your feet wet’ – I jumped in head first!  However, Jason was off two of the days that week and the other three he took half days.  So having two people around with two kids wasn’t all that bad.  We each took one.

Then week two came along and I was all alone from Monday am at 7:15.  Johhny still had his days and nights mixed up and overall it was a long and hard week.  At the end of that week- he finally figured out that nighttime is for sleeping and would go back to sleep without wailing his head off for hours after his feedings.

Week three- cluster feeding central.  Man o man,  I knew this boy could eat- but this was amazing.  Every afternoon/evening from 4pm on, all he wanted to do was eat.  It didn’t matter if he had just finished eating, he was ready to go again.  Now, that doesn’t seem like a huge deal until you try to do something… like eat dinner.  Or leave the house.  Yep, I was homebound that week.  Thankfully, that ended a few days ago.

We are now in week four and besides being quite tired, we are doing pretty well.  I honestly have to say (with the children God has given me) that the transition from 1-2 kids was easier than 0-1 kid. 🙂  Maybe it is because we have a routine and I’m used to being interrupted at any moment in the day with who knows what to greet me! 🙂  But really, Belle finally came around after 2 weeks of “adjustment” to not being the only child in the house and she loves her brother!  If he cries, she comes running.  If he is awake, she is cuddling by his side talking to him.  Yesterday, she laid down on the blanket beside him and put a small blanket over the top of the two of them and said “Look mom, we’re snuggling!”  She is a great big sister.  And my hubby… well, I have yet another reason to brag about him. He is a wonderful daddy and a great help and support to me.  Every night after I’m done feeding Johnny, he will wake up roll over and sometimes kiss me, sometimes just pat me on the arm and sometimes verbally thank me for sacrificing for our family.  What a wonderful thing to look forward to after each feeding.  Knowing that someone sees and understands what I’m going through.  And me, well, my maternity pants don’t fit very well anymore.  And I can’t seem to find regular pants that do.  Thankfully, my maternity shirts were mostly designed to fit a little snug- so they are doing all right.  I’m pretty tired and have headaches quite a bit of the time.  I think they are mostly due to lack of sleep.  But meals are still being delivered to our door (thank you again!!!) and my tomato plants in the garden are not dead yet.. but pretty close! 🙂

In closing:

“If you try to keep your life for yourself, you will lose it.  But if you give up your life for me, you will find true life.”- Luke 9:24

“But as for me, how good it is to be near God!  I have made the sovereign Lord my shelter and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things you do.” – Psalm 73:28

And a quote I read this week about beauty (very relavant in my life with the leftover baby weight!)

“A woman is beautiful not because of who she is (her looksor roles), but because of Whose she is.  As we learn to live in the midst of God’s ‘wild about us’ love (Psalm 45:11- The message), we’re transformed.  We become fully alive and impossibly beautiful.” – Jane Rubietta-TCW

